Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Playing BioShock Games in Chronological Order: A Guide

How to Play the BioShock Games in Chronological Order

The BioShock series, known for its immersive action-horror gameplay and unique storytelling, has captivated players since its inception. The franchise, considered a masterpiece by many, deviates from traditional norms, employing a narrative that spans alternate universes and defies chronological order.

Comprising four main games and three expansions, the series’ narrative complexity is navigated through a chronological lens below:


BioShock (Credits: IGN)

1. BioShock Infinite: Industrial Revolution (2013): This browser-based flash game, a pre-order bonus for BioShock Infinite, serves as a prequel. Players engage in cog-based puzzles, gaining insights into conflicts within Infinite’s world.

2. BioShock Infinite (2013): The third mainline entry follows Pinkerton detective Booker Dewitt as he navigates the floating city of Columbia, unraveling a complex story involving a mysterious girl named Elizabeth and the manipulation of alternate realities.

3. BioShock Infinite: Burial at Sea – Part 1 (2013): This expansion, set in Rapture, follows an alternate-universe Booker Dewitt and Elizabeth as they search for a missing girl named Sally.

4. BioShock Infinite: Burial at Sea – Part 2 (2014): Picking up from Part 1, this expansion shifts control to Elizabeth, focusing on a stealth-oriented gameplay style and aiming to resolve lingering mysteries while setting the stage for the original BioShock.

5. BioShock (2007): The debut entry follows Jack, the lone survivor of a plane crash, as he explores the fallen underwater city of Rapture, facing its mutated inhabitants and uncovering a dystopian society.

6. BioShock 2 (2010): Developed by 2K Marin, this sequel puts players in the shoes of a Big Daddy, Subject Delta, eight years after the events of BioShock, facing a new antagonist in Sofia Lamb.

7. BioShock 2: Minerva’s Den (2010): This expansion, occurring alongside BioShock 2, follows another Big Daddy, Subject Sigma, as he pursues Rapture’s computer mainframe, The Thinker.

For those who prefer a release order, the recommended sequence is as follows:

1. BioShock (2007)
2. BioShock: Challenge Rooms (2008)
3. BioShock 2 (2010)
4. BioShock 2: Minerva’s Den (2010)
5. BioShock Infinite: Industrial Revolution (2013)
6. BioShock Infinite (2013)
7. BioShock Infinite: Clash in the Clouds (2013)
8. BioShock Infinite: Burial at Sea – Part 1 (2013)
9. BioShock Infinite: Burial at Sea – Part 2 (2014)

Regarding the future of BioShock, a new installment, tentatively labeled BioShock 4, is being developed by Cloud Chamber. Additionally, a Netflix movie adaptation of the original BioShock and Ken Levine’s next project, Judas, promises to keep fans immersed in the twisted sci-fi goodness of the BioShock universe.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


Actress Emma D’Arcy is from the British rebellion. She has only appeared in a small number of movies and TV shows. It might be...


Jennifer Coolidge Is Pregnant: Jennifer Coolidge Audrey Coolidge is a comedian and actress from the United States. Many of her followers are wondering if...


Spoilers! The demon Akaza from Kimetsu no Yaiba dies in the eleventh arc of the manga and the one responsible for his death is...


The young YouTube star Emily Canham has recently been seen making headlines for her amazing work and her journey. She started from scratch and...